Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Button Properties - Force open document with Firefox

Hi,

I am a total noob, so bear with me. I have an index.html file on my CD root directory. And all computers using the CD should have Firefox installed at the default folder C:/Program Files (x86)/Mozilla Firefox/firefox.exe

I have a button on my menu page that I pick the Open Document option in the Button Properties Screen. I point it to the index.html file in the root directory. Is there an Add Action or Add Code I could paste into the Script Tab to force their computer to open the index.html with Firefox.exe instead of IE or their default browser? Furthermore, is it possible to have it search the Registry on the off chance they have installed Firefox to a different folder on their hard drive?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hi done a small app for you - firefox.apz
    Checks registry for firefox path and if exist then runs index.html with firefox
    If not then asks user if they want to install firefox - if yes installs else exits app
    Because I've included firefox installer in example too big (32Mb) to post so here is link

https://*******/#!GeoyQKbK!Iwz-tSsXB...SNPERC6Ed91PuU

I've tested with win7 & 10 vmware
    Cheers

Comment

@sycore

In regards your 1st question:
      You can force Firefox to open the index.html via the Shell.Execute() action:
      Code:
      Shell.Execute(_ProgramFilesFolder.."\\Mozilla Firefox\\firefox.exe", "open", _SourceDrive.."\\index.html", "", 1, false);
      But be mindful of the Global variable (_ProgramFilesFolder) being used in the above example - it actually translates as "Program Files (x86)". And therefore needs adjustment if intending to use on both x86 and x64 systems. Instead, to incorporate both system architectures, use:

Code:
      if (System.Is64BitOS()) then
          fPath = _WindowsFolder:gsub("\\Windows", "").."\\Program Files\\Mozilla Firefox\\firefox.exe";
      else