Remove TaskBar Button

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Remove TaskBar Button

Hello and thanks in advance for any assistance.

I need to have my application not show up at all in the task bar. It is a desktop app (kind of a reminder system) it is a very small tab that stays active, like an Icon then slides open when the user needs more information. Problem is I don't want to take up space on the taskbar.

I tried using the ITaskbarList and DeletTab functions in the shell32.dll but cannot get those functions to be found with the dll action - any ideas? I am new to this and not really a coder.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

GTK

Re: Remove TaskBar Button

There is nothing built into AutoPlay that can accomplish this. There must be a way to do this through the Windows API. Any ideas folks?

Comment

Did I hear someone ask for ideas?

Trick Bill Gates into falling in love with you and then get him to solve it, that's one idea.

Build a Window's savvy super-robot out of ordinary household refuse. That's another idea. I actually tried this when I was 5, no lie. Even went so far as to climb in the garbage can with Alan Hindle and sift through the contents for about an hour before determining that appropriate parts simply weren't available. Frankly the technology then hadn't advanced to the extent it has now. I believe it could be done now given the superiority of today's household garbage.

A third and final idea is to kidnap yourself and make a ransom demand to your parents that they solve it. Admittedly this idea is not the best of the three but it provides good contrast and opportunity for travel.

Corey Milner
      Creative Director, Indigo Rose Software

Comment

Adam, there are many ways this could be done with the Windows API… But I am not a coder, that’s why I have been attempting this with AMS. I think it should be an option at the project and/or page level in AMS. Or at least a dll supplied by AMS.